A Homemade Week: Tease

This week, as part of my 1001 things project training, I’m attempting for 7 straight days, to cook tasty, healthy-ish meals for me and my HuzBand.  Here is what will successfully result in a check mark next to a tasty, healthy-ish meal:

  • Using fresh, natural ingredients
  • Substituting healthy options for unhealthy ones {think egg whites instead of whole egg}
  • MB likes it!

This week, I’m going to cook and document and hopefully be accepted as a guest blogger over at my FAVO food blog, Incredible Crunchy Flavor.  So in the meantime, here is a great start to a semi-homecooked week.

On Sunday, I invited my best girls from the Old Town Book Club over to reconnect since I lamed on life after the wedding and missed our last meeting.  We played Scrabble and noshed on what I thought were some pretty tasty snacks. 

A standard for having people over and givin’ em something tasty are Orange Marmalade meatballs.  Super easy, tasty, and pretty healthy.

Adapted from Sandra Lee’s Semi-homemade Marmalade Meat Balls

1 lb frozen, pre cooked meatballs

8 oz Kraft Free Catalina salad dressing

1/2 cup reduced sugar orange marmalade

1.5 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

1/4 crushed red pepper

Mix together the dressing, marmalade, Worcestershire sauce and crushed red pepper.

100_2564

Stick the meatballs in the slower cooker.

 

100_2565

Dump the sauce over the meatballs and cook on high for 2-3 hours. 

I served these bad boys with some pre baked frozen wheat and french rolls.  There were even enough left for MB to take for lunch. Yummo.

Next, no good gathering at la casa del Wife & Blog is complete without some sort of Mexican dish — so I whipped up some 4 layer dip

Modified from Betty Crocker’s 7 layer dip recipe

1 can black beans drained

1 cup guacamole

1 cup salsa

1 cup shredded cheese

In lieu of using refried beans, which aren’t the best for you, I took to making my own black bean paste ala my chopper.

100_2566

 

Normal people would then mix the beans with 1/2 cup sour cream — which I had every intention of doing — except our sour cream had sprouted some furry friends and needed to be discarded.  Instead, I mixed a 1/4 cup of the chunky salsa I’d bought in with the beans and tossed the bean + salsa paste into my pie plate. 

100_2567

Next I tried the store bought guac, which was OK but needed a kick.  As you can see, I added another 1 tbsp of the chunky salsa as well as a generous dusting of taco seasoning to the guac and mixed it up. 

100_2568

Then I layered the guac + salsa + seasoning over the bean + salsa paste and topped with sprinkled Weight Watchers Mexican blend cheese!  Serve with baked tositos scoops!  NOM!

100_2569

I also made brownies out of a box.  Not too exciting.

What is your favo recipes for having friends over?  Are you excited about a week of homemade meals?

2 thoughts on “A Homemade Week: Tease

  1. Pingback: A Homemade Week: Day 1 « I Now Pronounce You Wife and Blog

Leave a Reply

