A Homemade Week: Day 1

As you’ve heard, I’m making MB dinner every night for a week.  Let’s get right to it with some stuffed peppers, shall we?

100_2590

Adapted from Simply Recipe’s Dad’s Stuffed Bell Peppers

4 green or red bell peppers
Salt
2 tbsp butter
1 medium yellow onion, peeled and chopped
1 clove of garlic, peeled and chopped
1 lb of lean ground turkey
1 1/2 cup of cooked rice or 3/4 cup of raw instant rice
1 cup chopped tomatoes, fresh or canned
1 tbsp chopped fresh oregano or 1 tsp of dried oregano
1/2 cup ketchup
1/2 tsp of Worcestershire Sauce
1 tsp crushed red pepper

First, cut off the tops of the peppers, seed and rinse.

100_2571

Boil water in a large pot and have your husband submerge the peppers in the boiling water for about 3-4 minutes or until your peppers’ skin is a vibrant color {You can use any  type of pepper you’d like — the green ones were on sale at Giant!}

100_2573

Erstewhile, chop the onion and garlic clove together.  I hate HATE chopping by hand so I food process pretty much anything

100_2572

Heat your butter in a large pan and cook the onion/garlic paste until your whole apartment smells awesome — about 5 minutes

100_2574

Once cooked, remove from heat and add ground turkey, oregano, canned tomatoes and rice.   Mix very well.

100_2576

In the meantime your husband should have removed the peppers from the boiling water to drain and cool.

100_2577

As the peppers cool, mix together the sauce for the top of the stuffed peppers by combining Worcestershire Sauce, ketchup, and crushed red pepper.

 100_2578

Once the peppers are cooled, put them cut side up in a baking dish with 1/4 cup of warm water on the bottom.  Then stuff with ground turkey mixture!

100_2583

Top with sauce and bake at 350 for 50 minutes

100_2588

or until the center of each pepper is 150-160 degrees

100_2589

it got warmer, I promise

And then feed to husband!

100_2591

NOM!

Over all they were very satisfying!  I could only eat half of one, they were so filling.  I would probably season the ground turkey with some serious helpings of cracked black pepper {which I forgot to do} and MB suggested mixing the sauce in with the meat before stuffing – we liked the sauce.  So I will probably heed that advice and double the mini-recipe for the sauce.

This is the first time I’ve ever eaten OR MADE stuffed peppers.  I’m a convert.  This also beat my lasagna for MB’s favorite meal {that was easy!}

Do you like stuffed peppers?

8 thoughts on “A Homemade Week: Day 1

  1. Pingback: Kanga Take Two « MB Photos

  2. Pingback: A Homemade Week: Day 2 « I Now Pronounce You Wife and Blog

  3. Pingback: A Homemade Week: Day 2.5 « I Now Pronounce You Wife and Blog

  4. Pingback: A Homemade Week: Day 3 « I Now Pronounce You Wife and Blog

  5. Pingback: A Homemade Week: Day 3.5 « I Now Pronounce You Wife and Blog

  6. Pingback: A Homemade Week: Day 4 « I Now Pronounce You Wife and Blog

  7. Pingback: A Homemade Week: Day 5 « I Now Pronounce You Wife and Blog

  8. Pingback: Triumphant Return « I Now Pronounce You Wife & Blog

Leave a Reply

