A Homemade Week: Day 2.5

Day 1, Day 2

As mentioned Day 2’s dinner was a smidge rushed because we had something to celebrate.  Our 1 month wedding anniversary.

100_2607

I made a red velvet cake with icing from scratch because MB missed his red velvet cupcake at the reception.  We were too busy having the time of our lives to eat a cupcake {and THAT my friends is how you know you had a good time — you miss the confections}.

I found this recipe on EADL and after Little C had to REMIND me it was our mini anniversary I decided it would be a perfect time to try it out….riiiight

Ingredients:

1 package fudge marble cake recipe [18-1/4 oz]
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups buttermilk [instead of buying buttermilk, add either 1 1/2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar or lemon juice to the milk and stir] let set for about a minute [I do this before I start putting the cake batter together]
1 bottle [1 oz] red food coloring
1 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat oven: 350.  Combine cake mix [there are two packages in the box] and baking soda and stir.

 

b100_2599

Add eggs, buttermilk, food coloring and vanilla. Blend on low until moistened. Beat on high for 2 minutes, scraping sides occasionally.  Pour into the cake pans

 

100_2601

 

I used the pilfered bunt pan as I accidentally threw away all my cake pans and didn’t get any new ones yet!!  Bake at 350 for 30-35 minutes or until the tester comes out clean.  Meanwhile start mixing up that darned frosting.

5 Tablespoons flour
1 cup milk
1 cup butter or margarine [softened/ room temp] [I zap in microwave about 10 seconds if I forget to set out the butter from refrig]
1 cup sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla

In a small bowl, put 2 T. of flour, ADD enough of the milk to make a thick paste, stirring all the time. Add more flour and then more milk, continuing to stir and add till all of milk/flour are in the mixture. [Reason: the flour has a tendency to lump if put it and milk together all at one time]

Put in a sauce pan. Bring to a boil, STIRRING CONSTANTLY. It will thicken quickly and resemble a custard [ if slightly lumpy–not to worry:)]

100_2602

 

Remove from heat. Stir. Cover. Refrigerate [ I put mine in freezer and stir every two or three minute till LUKEWARM to COOL.]

While that mixture is cooling, in a mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar.  Add chilled milk mixture and BEAT[ on high] 10 minutes, till fluffly.  Add vanilla, stir

100_2606

This is where I went really wrong.  My icing never got fluffy.  I put it in the fridge after beating it for 10 minutes and still had to pour it over my bunt cake.  I think the next time I make it, I’ll make the cake in advance of serving and BUY the frosting.  But hubsy liked it regardless.  And his blackberry.

100_2608

Do you like red velvet cake?  Would you try to make it from scratch?

2 thoughts on “A Homemade Week: Day 2.5

  1. Pingback: A Homemade Week: Day 4 « I Now Pronounce You Wife and Blog

Leave a Reply

