War.

Earlier this week, I had an epiphany.  My epiphanies start small and then build up to a big, huge, honkin’, blog post worthy AHA!  This one was about the war.  And how it needs to probably stop {from where I sit at least} stat.

First, I was mulling about our young Veterans.  I’d recently seen a documentary about young men and women coming home, severely injured, paralyzed or worse and the effects on them and their families.  It was really moving.  The story that hit me the hardest was about a young man who was almost blown to death by an IED in Iraq.  He barely survived and now lives at home, unable to walk, speak and do a lot of things that you and I do, as a result of service to his country.  His father said he was 19 in Basic, 20 in Iraq, and 21 in the VA Hospital.  My heart broke.

Broken hearted as I was, I pushed it out of my mind and went about my business.  The business of watching South Park with my husband occasionally.  The episode was the one where Cartman travels back in time to figure out if the Founding Fathers would have wanted the adults of South Park to split into two groups that  vehemently oppose and are for the war.  Cartman tells everyone that the US was founded on the idea that we, as people, should be able to make war and protest it at the same time. 

southpark_war

source

MB and I laughed of course, because that’s what you do about South Park, but I started thinking about the war a little bit more based on the last time I interfaced with it, from the young, wounded Veteran’s perspective.

Then, I was trying to muscle through a book club pick from 2 months ago {MY pick}, The Rice Mother.

ricemother

 source

And I’d finally read through the part of the book where the family’s life is completely ripped apart by the Japanese occupation of their homeland during WWII.  The details are gruesome and the emotional and physical toll that the occupation has on the characters is brutal to read.  And probably not far from the actual experiences of many during war time.

Wait, aren’t we in war times?

As an American, I’m so so so so SO SO SO lucky to have never experienced war in any fashion except for the very removed fashion of seeing troops come and go.  Noone has ever invaded our condo, our city, our state, much less our nation.  And in thinking of war in these terms, the terms of the civilians affected by the conflict being fought in their homelands, made me really start to hate the war. 

Let me be perfectly clear — while I hate the war,  I LOVE OUR TROOPS.  I am forever indebted and amazed by the men and women who take oath to serve and protect our country by giving up their lives.  This is a service I am not now, nor ever will be strong enough to offer.  That is it.

But now, daily, I think of the poor souls in Iraq and Afghanistan, the natives and our troops, who are traumatically affected by American occupation.  By blasts and killing and carnage around them everyday as we fight an unidentified terrorist enemy who we have not been able to stop for a very very long time.  I wonder what our policy and our purpose is now and if there is any more to be gained from all this loss and disruption of life.

This might be too much for a comment section, but, what do you think of the war?  When did your opinions really click for you?

2 thoughts on “War.

  1. I have two brothers who have served and I am adamantly against this war. I was against it before they served, and their service has only solidified my view that it is a terrible thing on both sides.

Leave a Reply

