Peppermint Bark

I love William Sonoma.  Probably more than I love long runs, pink Gatorade, blogging and my iMAC.  Seriously that much.  I think the love is spawned MOSTLY from their silicone spatulas and scrapers changing the landscape of my kitchens for all time.  That and they have the cow creamer I never got as a wedding gift.

While shopping for MB’s xmas gift, I stumbled upon my most favorite but least indulged holiday treat, the peppermint bark.

source

The nice lady handed me a tiny chunk and I was immediately plunged into bark bliss.  I grabbed the largest tin I could find, did some more shopping and then immediately came to my senses.  At almost $50 a tin, there was no way I was walking out with this.  So I decided I could make it.  And I did.

Peppermint Bark {from abouteating.com}

1 12 oz bag chocolate chips
1 12 oz bag white chocolate chips
1/2 teaspoon peppermint extract
6 crushed candy canes

Preheat oven to 250. Line a 9×13 pan with foil, letting it hang over the sides. Spray foil. Pour the chocolate chips in an even layer on the foil. Place in oven for 5 minutes or until almost melted. Remove from oven, smooth with an offset spatula or knife. Place in refrigerator until cold and firm, about 20 minutes.

Melt white chocolate chips in a double boiler or in a metal bowl over simmering water (don’t let bottom of bowl touch water), until chocolate is almost melted. Remove bowl from water and stir until completely melted, stirring in extract. Let cool a little bit so it doesn’t melt the chocolate layer when you pour it on top.

 

This is very important so listen up WHEN MELTING WHITE CHOCOLATE CHIPS MAKE SURE THAT THEY ARE AS FRESH AS YOU CAN GET THEM AND THAT THE WATER UNDER YOU DOUBLE BROILER IS A ROLLING BOIL. Otherwise you will have a disgusting mess.  And then the bark will be ruined.  And then Xmas will be ruined.  Don’t ruin xmas.

Pour this over chocolate layer, and, working quickly, spread to cover. Sprinkle with crushed candy.
Chill until both layers are firm. Lift foil out of pan and shake off excess candy. Trim edges. Bust  into 2” wide strips.  I used the non-fork end of a fork.   Peel bark from foil and cut each strip as desired. Chill in covered container.

This is MB’s new favo holiday treat.  Do you like peppermint bark?  Would you make it?

One thought on “Peppermint Bark

Leave a Reply

