Blazing Autumn

Autumn is, by far, my favorite season.  Like so many other bloggers who are writing now, I love the sweaters, jeans and riding bots {which I don’t own — pout} pumpkin spice lattes, beautiful colors, sunshine afternoons and cool evenings.  I also love the imminent change that’s in the air.  I associate the autumn with beginning a new school year which is fun and exciting and there is so much promise for the year.

I was worried when my husband moved us to California that I would miss that change, miss the cool air and that there would be something completely out of whack.  Turns out I had nothing to worry about.

As part of his birthday gift, MB and I went to Kings Canyon National Park, Sequoia National Forest and Sequoia National Park.  There we saw the most beautiful art that God himself could create.  The leaves were just starting to change and we were graced with cool nights, warm afternoon and a promise of change.

Our lives are so different this October than they were last.  And as we stood at the summit of the mountain {we drove there, don’t worry}, I couldn’t help but feel that anticipation that I got each fall from start of a new school year.  My life and our life is at a precipe, there is so much that is about to change.  Not just in the 10 months that we will spend as H+W on seperate coasts, but in the time that we seperately are spending developing our careers and in some ways ourselves.

I can’t tell you how proud I am of MB.  He has been so adaptive, receptive and willing to embrace his new home.  He’s planted a garden, joined a cool book club and plans fun outdoor adventures for us when I’m home.  And at work, he’s doing amazing things, learning what it’s like to be the bottom pickle, and working really well with a brand new team.

For me, I feel like it’s less amazing, the things that I’m doing, because I’m technically at home here too but I’m trying to be really self aware and make sure that my time spent apart from my husband is time really well spent.

Autumn, I suspected, on the west coast woudl be really different.  And in some ways it is.  But in all the right ways, it certainly is not.

How are you dealing with the post-school autumn?

Leave a Reply

